XP Mode for Windows 7

In my last post I described my experience to date with Windows 7.  In summary it has been good but there were a few programs that were not compatible with the new operating system.  The one that caused me the biggest inconvenience was not being able to connect to a VMware View session.  My first thought was to just install VMware Workstation and run an XP or 2003 OS from virtually whenever I needed to connect to View which we use to access our lab environments and give demo’s.  This works fine if you own Workstation but if not you have to purchase it which I doubt many people want to do.  Enter XP Mode for Windows 7.

I wasn’t even aware of this functionality in Windows 7 until I was surfing though www.tweaks.com  (great site by the way).  XP Mode, once enabled and installed, allows you to run a virtual Windows XP workstation within Windows 7 using Windows Virtual PC.  The best part, it is completely free and works like a champ.  There are a few things you need to have before you can enable XP Mode:

1-      You must have a processor that supports hardware assisted virtualization like AMD-V or Intel-VT.  To check to see whether your processor is compatible you can run the HAV Detection Tool.  More than likely you’ll have to turn on the hardware virtualization feature in your BIOS which will require a reboot but is simple to do.

2-      Download and install the XP Mode component which can be found here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/default.aspx  It’s a big file (500MB).

3-      Download and install the Windows Virtual PC software which can also be found here: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/default.aspx  Only about 10MB.

For more detailed instructions on how to setup XP Mode, including screenshots, check out the TWEAKS.com website at:  http://tweaks.com/articles/40183/install-and-use-xp-mode-in-windows-7/

Once everything is installed you can run “XP Mode” from under “All Programs | Windows Virtual PC” and install any software you may need.  In my case it was simply the VMware View Client and some GoToMeeting plug-ins.   I tested this on my laptop and it works every bit as good as when I had XP loaded as the primary OS.  Start up and shutdown of the virtual session is fast and so far….reliable.  I have dual monitors so I’m able to run XP on one and Windows 7 on the other which comes in handy.  So if you have some programs that just won’t behave in Windows 7 check out XP Mode.

Tags: ,

One Response to “XP Mode for Windows 7”

  1. noactive Says:

    XP Mode for Windows 7 .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

Leave a Reply

