VMware View and Windows 7

In my last few blogs about Windows 7 I ranted a little about how I was impressed so far with the latest OS release from the evil empire of Microsoft (had to put that in there for the Mac geeks).  The biggest thing I had to whine about was that the VMware View client wouldn’t work with the new OS.  Granted this is a VMware problem not a Microsoft problem but it was none the less……irritating.  There were a few ways around the issues using XP Mode or some other client hypervisor but you still had to log in to another machine which was……..also irritating.

We’ll my whinning was silenced when my boss sent me a handy little registry hack that allows the View client to work with Windows 7 just the way it worked with XP and Vista.  So, as it was shared with me to easy my irritations I will share it with you.  Simply cut and paste the lines of text below (in red) into Microsoft Notepad and save the file as a .reg file instead of .txt, double-click  and apply the registry changes.  You may want to backup your registry first, although I haven’t had a single problem after making the registry changes.   Special thanks to Jeremiah “V-Pain” Cook for hooking me up with this handy hack!

 

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

 [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\5.0\User Agent]

“Version”=”MSIE 8.0”

“Platform”=”Windows NT 6.0”

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\User Agent\Post Platform]

“SV1″=-

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Version Vector]

“IE”=”8.0000”

 [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\5.0\User Agent]

“Version”=”MSIE 8.0”

“Platform”=”Windows NT 6.0”

 [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\User Agent\Post Platform]

“SV1″=-

 [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Version Vector]

“IE”=”8.0000”

 

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “VMware View and Windows 7”

  1. noactive Says:

    VMware View and Windows 7 .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

  2. John H Says:

    Is this hack for View 3 or 4?

Leave a Reply

