Rainfinity/VE – First Impressions

This past week I played around with getting Rainfinity/VE up and running in our lab.  Rainfinity/VE is EMC’s latest file management appliance that can now be run as a vm in your VMware environment.  I was hoping we would have the latest, full version release of the software but I had to settle for a 30 day demo version.  The latest version has the ability to do archiving to the EMC Atmos cloud which I was hoping to test but it looks like I’ll have to wait a few weeks.  Anyway, on to the Rainfinity/VE details……

First, I had to find some documentation on how to install and configure the system so it was off to Google search.  I found a couple of sites that were extremely helpful. 

–          Link to some more excellent info and videos from Chad Sakac’s blog: 

–          Link to download the demo:

–          Link to the QuickStart Guide: 

There is also a pdf document that comes as part of the .zip demo package that gives good step-by-step install and setup documentation.  The file name is  300-009-001-a01.pdf

If you want screenshots and very detailed technical info about each step of the process check out the links above.  I’m lazy and there’s no sense reinventing the wheel but here are a few things I ran into. First, get the demo downloaded and unzipped.  The file is almost 700mb so it may take some time.  I was installing the virtual appliance on one of our vSphere hosts and for whatever reason had some major issues getting the .OVA appliance format imported.  I converted it over to OVF format and still had problems.  Finally I got the OVF format to import using the free version of VMware Converter.  Hopefully you’ll have better luck than me!  Second, make sure DNS is setup and working correctly.  Due to the setup of our lab I ran into some issues here that can make things go not so smoothly.  Other than these two issues everything was pretty straight forward and simple to setup….. “So easy, a Sales Engineer can do it!”.

For my testing I connected the Rainfinity/VE appliance into our EMC Celerra NS-120.  I created a new CIFS server and share and then copied a bunch of old MS Office and PDF files over to it that had been sitting on our SharePoint server forever.  I created a second CIFS server and share on some 2nd tier storage that was also on the same Celerra.  This is where I was hoping to be able to create and use some Atmos storage but for now the 2nd tier was good enough to do some testing.  From the Rainfinity side of things you basically just tell it where your different storage repositories are and then start creating policies around what data you want to archive and where you want to archive it.  For my test I created 2 different policies, one to archive files not modified in > 90 day and another to archive PDF documents > 3MB.  Once the policies are created you can run them immediately or schedule them at whatever frequency you need.  Once the files are archived a small stub is left behind to link users to the actual files.

Overall I think this is going to be a great solution for mid-sized customers.  It’s affordable, it runs on an existing VMware infrastructure with minimal resource requirements and is relatively easy to administer.  In addition you will now have the ability to archive to the cloud and leverage the cost saving that it brings to the table.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Rainfinity/VE – First Impressions”

  1. Bob Lange Says:

    Glad you had such fun with the rainfinity product. We are running it with the ATMOS cloud and had a few issues getting it running.

    Did you have any issues with Windows server service account setup? We are trying to run with log on restrictions being set on the service account for the CIFS and wanting to limit the access of that service account and where it can log on into the network environment.

    And news or tips would be greatly appreciated

Leave a Reply

